Our School Staff

Acting Headteacher 

Mrs C Madeloso, B.A, M.A, N.P.Q.H

Acting Deputy Head

Mrs K Graham B.A. (USA) QTS, CofEPQH, ( SENCO ) 

Assistant Head:

Mrs C Carter B.A., M.A., PGCE (Maternity Leave)

Mrs S Fraser B.A, P.G.C.E

Mr C O'Doherty B.A, P.G.C.E

Mr R Clarke B.A, P.G.C.E (Head of 6th Form)

Business Manager:

Mr J Byrne  Bsc.ACA

Progress Leaders:

  • Ms H Browne, B.A, P.G.C.E - Year 7 & 8                                           
  • Ms K Walker, B.A, P. G.C.E   - Year 9 & 10
  • Mrs S O'Shea B.Sc P.G.C.E  - Year 11
  • Miss G Morris, B.Sc with QTS - Year 12 & 13           .                                      

Faculty Staff  (Subject Leaders are in bold )

Religious Studies: 

  • Mr J McLaren, B.A., P.G.C.E. (R.E.)
  • Mrs A Davies, B.A., P.G.C.E. (R.E.) 
  • Miss E Rothwell, B.A., P.G.C.E (R.E ) - 2nd in Department
  • Mr C O'Doherty, B.A., P.G.C.E  
  • Miss R Hollis, B.A, P.G.C.E
  • School Chaplain: Rev Mike Griffin


  • Miss H Stuttard B.A Hons, P.G.C.E 
  • Miss H Cummins B.A Hons, P.G.C.E (2nd in Dept)
  • Mrs H Verheul B.Sc Hons, P.G.C.E
  • Mr I Vicary, B.Sc., P.G.C.E.
  • Mr D Perry,B.Sc., P.G.C.E.
  • Mrs A Oliver B.Sc., M.Phil., P.G.C.E (Maternity Leave)
  • Miss C Roberts B.A., P.G.C.E.   
  • Mrs E Hawkins  B.A P.G.C.E                


  • Mrs T Hughes, B.A., P.G.C.E. 
  • Mrs. K Graham B.A. (USA) QTS
  • Mrs A Webster, B.A., P.G.C.E.
  • Mrs S Fraser, B.A., P.G.C.E. 
  • Mrs L Magin, B.A., P.G.C.E. 
  • Mr T Marston, B.A., P.G.C.E. (Head of Literacy & KS5 English)
  • Miss S Fielding B.A., P.G.C.E.
  • Miss E Rothwell, B.A., P.G.C.E
  • Mrs A De Middelaer  B.A., P.G.C.E (2nd in Dept)( with KS3 Responsibility)
  • Miss C Doyle B.A, P.G.C.E 


  • Mrs E Wilkinson,B.Sc., Cert Ed 
  • Mrs N Eyres B.Sc., P.G.C.E. (2nd in department)
  • Mr J Edgar, B.Sc., P.G.C.E.
  • Mr M Jones, M.Sc., P.G.C.E.
  • Mrs K Armitage, B.Sc, P.G.C.E. 
  • Mr S Hussain BSc., P.G.C.E
  • Dr O McGinn ( KS5 CEIAG Co-Ordinator)
  • Mrs D McLaughlin BSc. PGCE (STEAM Co-Ordinator)


  • Miss K Melluish B.A., P.G.C.E. (Maternity leave)
  • Ms N Oztuna, B.A., P.G.C.E.(2nd in department)
  • Miss L Johnson B.A P.G.C.E
  • Miss H Browne, B.A., P.G.C.E. (PE)
  • Miss K Walker, B.A., P.G.C.E (PE)B.A (Hons) 


  • Mr M Jones, B.Des., P.G.C.E.
  • Miss G Morris, B.Sc with QTS
  • Mrs S O’Shea, B.Sc., P.G.C.E.


  • Mrs H Rimmer B.A, P.G.C.E. MA (CEIAG Co-Ordinator)
  • Miss C Roberts B.A, P.G.CE. 

Modern Foreign Languages:

  • Mr S Davenport B.A (Hons) P.G.C.E
  • Mrs. C Carter B.A., M.A., P.G.C.E.(Maternity Leave)
  • Mrs L Irving, B.A., P.G.C.E.,
  • Miss M Querol Fortuno. B.A P.G.C.E

Human Science : (Health & Social Care, Sociology & Psychology)

  • Miss K Gillin, B.A., P.G.C.E. (Health & Social Care)
  • Ms G Kerr MSc., P.G.C.E.  (Psychology)
  • Ms J Perry, M.A., B.A., P.G.C.E.(Sociology)
  • Miss T Adetunji B.A P.G.C.E (Psychology)

Business Studies :

  • Mr A Cornmell BMM, P.G.C.E (Business Studies)


  • Miss C Tarpey B.A., P.G.C.E.
  • Mrs R Collier, B.Sc., P.G.C.E.

Humanities (History, Government & Politics).

  • Dr P Wainwright, BA, PhD, P.G.C.E
  • Mr J Butcher, B.A., P.G.C.E.
  • Mr D Pearson, M.A., P.G.C.E.
  • Mr R Clarke, B.A., P.G.C.E


  • Mr P Love, B.Sc., P.G.C.E.

Special Educational Needs:

  • Mrs K Graham B.A (USA), QTS, CofEPQH, (SENCO)
  • Mrs M McKean (SEN Support)
  • Mrs J Rimmer. (HLTA)
  • S.E.N. Learning Support -  Mrs. A Thorpe; Miss Z O'Hare, Miss E Hardcastle, Mrs D Horne
  • Mr S Belchier, Mrs J Kennedy
  • Mrs S Warrior (SEN Teacher -Prince's Trust)

Cover Supervisor:

  • Miss S Boner

Support Staff:

  • Mrs J Black                                    Data, Exams & Achievement  Officer 
  • Mrs L Bryan                                    Headteacher’s P.A.;  Clerk to the Governing Body
  • Mrs J Ennis                                    Data,  Exams and Achievement Manager
  • Mrs J Graham                               Admin Manager/Admissions Manager                                                
  • Miss L McCoy                                Admin Assistant /Finance
  • Mrs J Irving                                    Admin Assistant
  • Mrs J Richardson                          Admin Assistant /Reprographics
  • Mr B Howard                                 Finance and Resource Manager
  • Mrs P Williams                              HR Manager  
  • Mrs. J McKeown                          HLTA (Maths Teaching Assistant)
  • Mrs H Hurt                                    HLTA (English Teaching Assistant)

Pastoral Support

  • Miss A Bryan                               KS3 Pastoral Lead
  • Mrs M Harris                               KS4 Pastoral Lead (Assistant Designated Safeguard Lead)
  • Mrs M Shurie                              KS5 Pastoral Lead (Assistant Designated Safeguard Lead)

Technical Staff:

  • Mr R Culverston                        Network Manager/  Senior ICT Technician
  • Mr R Haddley                             Caretaker
  • Mr I Pollock                                I.T. Technician
  • Mr D Edmondson                      Senior Laboratory Technician
  • Mr C Wilson                                Laboratory Technician

Supervisory & General Assistants

  • Ms R McDonald; Ms G Tyrer    

Catering Staff:
  • Mrs W Timson Catering Manager
Catering Assistants:
  • Ms P Jones; Ms L Cruickshank;  Ms H Johnson; Ms A McGrath,  Ms P Porter, Mrs S O'Brien, 
  • Mrs P Egan, Mrs J Bayliss, Mrs C Dawson

Additional Responsibilities:
  • Lay Chaplain                                Mr C O'Doherty
  • ITT Mentors                                 Miss C Roberts
  • School Chaplain                         Rev Mike Griffin


A Caring Christian Environment

"Our two daughters have had the best start in life thanks to the caring, enthusiastic and hardworking staff of Archbishop Blanch School. Choosing the right secondary school for one's children is such a difficult task, but we could feel the special ethos of ABS on our first visit. You inspire your pupils to achieve the academic heights of which they are capable in a happy, safe and vibrant environment."
Archbishop Blanch Parent.

Ethos and Expectations


Academic Excellence

We have a tradition of high academic standards encouraging students of all abilities to achieve and be successful. Our curriculum gives students many opportunities to progress and develop into whatever field they choose offering a vast range of subjects at each stage across the school and giving an excellent choice of extra curricular enrichment.

Our talented teachers deliver lessons which are fun and exciting supported by state of the art technology and resources.

Curriculum Information

About Us
& Our School

Christian Ethos and Vision

The Christian Ethos of Archbishop Blanch School is a unique feature of our school. We offer a safe and caring environment in which every student can reach their full potential.

The faith life of our school is a strong feature of Archbishop Blanch. Our new school building compliments our Christian ethos and enables us to come together in groups small and large. We also have a dedicated prayer room for special services and spiritual moments.

More Information about the School

Sixth Form

Sixth Form for the future

Archbishop Blanch has a successful sixth form which offers an excellent choice of subjects to both boys and girls:

Our experienced sixth form team offer both academic rigour, complemented by our supportive pastoral care which together produces outstanding results. 

Our new and exciting sixth form offers its own unique, facilities including: Study Centre, Dedicated Careers Advisor, Study Support Team and Social Area

More information about our Sixth Form